Kuhlau: Sonatina Op. 55, No.1


  • Piano Solo
  • Piano Accompaniment,
  • Clarinet
  • Horn
  • Violin
  • Viola
  • Cello


The sweet and joyful character of this Kuhlau Sonatina has made it the most popular of his piano works.

Classical sonatas normally have three parts or movements: fast-slow-fast. However, this sonatina has only 2 movements, fast and faster. The energetic second movement is short but it packs a punch. The main theme is danceable and very articulated, but it also contains a more lyrical section, brilliant chromatic scales, and a dramatic grand finale.

This arrangement features one pianist in a quasi-concerto format. The six Sonatinas, Op. 55, were published in Copenhagen in 1823 and, like the other sonatinas, were designed for teaching purposes or otherwise for the amateur market.

Customize This